About Copperbelt University Ecampus

“Knowledge and Service”

About CBU

The Copperbelt University is accredited and/or recognized by the Ministry of Higher Education, Zambia. All programmes are accredited by the Higher Education Authority, an institution established under the Higher Education Act No. 4 of 2013, to ensure quality of delivery of services by Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). The Copperbelt University (CBU) was established by the Act of Parliament No. 19 of 1987 and accredited by the Higher Education Authority. It is located in Kitwe, along Jambo Drive, Riverside in the Copperbelt Province of Zambia. Besides the conventional university education, CBU also offers competitive Open Distance Learning/ Education (ODL/E) programmes that lead to the award of certificates, diplomas, and degrees through the Directorate of Distance Education and Open Learning (DDEOL).


To contribute to the development and sustenance of the well-being of the people of Zambia and the world through the provision of flexible, innovative, entrepreneurial, inclusive programmes of teaching, learning, research, and service.


To be an institution in which scholarship flourishes in an environment characterised by world-class infrastructure and collaborative relations and supported by an accountable, transparent and efficient University governance system.